Simplicef 4.6 5 27 27
Happy Dog My Shih Tzu suffers from year round allergies. She is allergic to most foods and pollens (I am not exaggerating). She has been plagued with chronic Staph Infections since I adopted her 3.5 years ago. Her health issues have literally cost us a small fortune. I couldn't get my pup into the vet this last time. So, she prescribed me Simplicef 100mg ($28/7pills) that I could pick up since she had just been treated 6 weeks prior with the usual meds, injectable Convenia and Steroids. To my amazement, she had NO obvious side effects and this is the first time that the infection has actually stayed away for any length of time. She usually would have the lingering allergy/staph odor and itchiness by now. But, so far so good. Fingers crossed that she (and I) will have some long lasting relief. It is great that other owners with similar issues are having such great success with this product as well. The other reviews assure me that long term relief is possible for my pup with this product. Thanks to Pet Meds for offering this product with fair pricing. 06/09/2013
Great for treating skin allergies Our cavalier king charles spaniel is susceptible to skin allergies - apparently common in this breed. A flare up usually results in large scabs. Ever since our vet suggested Simplicef as an alternative to the allergist route, we start it at the first sign of a flare up and the irritation clears up without going through the scab stage. And no apparent side effects. Love it! 01/01/2013
Bad Side effects Got this med from our vet with no explaination of side effects. Simplicef caused our dog to drink lots and lots of water which required us to let her out many, many times a day and Night. She's had several 'accidents' because she couldn't get up and let us know. It also caused her some pain either muscular or joint so she wouldn't let us pick her up, etc. In a few cases, she slipped on the hardwood floor and couldn't get up and would snap at us if we tried to help. I think clindamycin might have been a better choice. We've given her this med for the prescribed duration. Her skin infection seems to have dried up but the 'dandruff' is horrible. 08/16/2012
Best Our black lab.is getting her hair back on her legs. She has a bactr.infection that makes the hair and her front legs swell up and this product works very well. 07/08/2012
Great Product at Great Price My little Boston Terrier Mix, Scrumptious was a rescue dog from the SPCA. Little did we know she had skin allergies and would require medication every month. The Simplicef works wonders on our baby. The best we have found. We decided to compare prices. 1-800-Petmeds had the best price available. I thought it would take forever to get the medication delivered. Boy was I wrong. Fast service and they even included a treat for Scrumptious which has won her over!! We will continue to get our meds through 1-800-Petmeds. Thank you for a great product and fantastic service. 06/07/2012
Great Medication for after surgery The vet doctor gave this to my goldendoodle after her surgery to remove her lympth nodes in her neck. She came down with a skin infection. She took this for 21 days. I think it helped cure her. Her allergies are bad at some point and she is on zyrtec now and it helps with scratching. 04/27/2012
works great and great price have been using simplicef through vet and the price was very high. going through pet meds is so much more affordable. my dog gets rashes at least 3 times a year so it wil be much more affordable to purchase through pet meds then going to see the vet 3 or 4 times a year. great product! 01/22/2012
good product after years of my dog itching at her ears and chewing at her paws, I decided to get another opinion from a different vet. Well as soon as I spoke to this vet he told me we needed to treat the cause and not just the symptoms - I couldn't have agreed more! She is almost finished with her simplicef, as well as 2x a week ear medicine regimen and another medication, ketoconazaole and she looks and feels great! Her ears and paws have never looked better and her coat is so shiny and not flaky! Really glad I got a new set of eyes to look at her. 10/09/2011
Works wonders for skin allergies I recently noticed my 1 1/2 year old sheltie was getting itchy, flaky rashes all over her belly and back. I took her to the vet who prescribed Hydroxyzine 25mg and that definitely helped with her itchies, but the rashes were getting redder and looked sore so I took her back to the vet who prescribed Simplicef 100mg. It is like a miracle drug! After about a week, her rashes were completely gone and she was no longer itching! The pill is small and you only have to give it once daily so I would give it five stars for its ease of use. This worked wonders in conjunction with her allergy medication to clear up her skin infection fast. I just hope it stays that way because the Simplicef is a tad expensive, but well worth it to see my baby back to her happy self! 07/13/2011
Extremely Effective Product I've been using Simplicef for my Scottish Terrier, Ali, for at least 4 years now & it has been wonderful! Ali was constantly getting infections on her skin & no matter how many times we would give her antibiotics, it would eventually come back. On our Vet's advise, we started her on Simplicef on weekends only (Pulse Therapy) & it has been extremely effective in keeping her free from all skin problems without any side effects. And getting this medication through 1-800-PetMeds makes it super easy in always having this product for my girl. Thanks 1-800-PetMeds! 06/02/2011
Most Reasonable Priced After years of trying numerous meds for Heidi's allergies she developed a staph infection and the shots she was receiving proved to be not the right way for her to go due to possible kidney failure. We finally started a regiment of Allergy Med pills everyother day and her Simplicef two times a week for the Staph Infection. Without Simplicef she becomes very lithless and her poops look like a mucus alien form. We also use Benzolperoxid Shampoo and an Equate product for Acne Medicine for her spots that occur from the staph occasionally. The Simplicef was a big drain on our budget at $56 for 15 pills from our vet. After finding PetMeds when the product is on sale I can 30 pills for around $48.!!!!!!!!!!! Isn't that Wonderful and she is a happy dog now. Thank You PetMeds :) 03/15/2011
Simplicef/Staff I have been able to keep her staff infection from reoccuring for approx. three years. Heidi has allergies and at two or three times a year her paws and feet drive her nuts. About three or four yrs ago she developed the staff infection for the first time. Her Allergy shots, which now she takes meds in a pill form, where not enough to help. Her vet put her on Simplicef after injections to clear up the initial outbreak. She takes one pill twice a week. I changed her food, shampoo, and she takes the allergy pill everyother day. With all that she is much better and the Staff has not come back. I also use products that contain Benzol Peroxide in her shampoo, creams to help her not itch or if I see a place that looks like the Staff did. Purchasing Simplicef through 1-800-PETMEDS has mad it affordable to maintain her necessities. Thank YOU!!!! 11/20/2010
Simplicef This medication is so much cheaper through petmeds. you worked with me to get it a little cheaper,but unfortunately it didn't help her because she needed a stronger med. and petmeds didn't have the stronger one. we had to buy it from the vet,and it cost quite a little. We're hoping this helps her. but all in all, we have bought alot through petmeds and your products are great. 08/28/2010
What a GREAT DEAL I cannot thank you enough. Heidi hasto take this medication 2 times a week. I normally haveto pay $60 for 15 pills. Due to your sale I got 4 times that for less than $60. I cannot thank you enought. Heidi, a white miniture schnauzer, has various allergies. Living in FL doesn't help. She developed a staph infection a year or so ago of which we are now able to keep under control. Without these pills she falls right back into the infection symptoms. We have also changed her food, IMS recommended, Shampoos etc. It is very expensive. You have really helped. 07/19/2010
Good Stuff - But Get it Here! These pills do wonders when my pug mix gets hot spots. HOWEVER, just this AM, I took Gizmo to our vet and she charged us $58 for 21 pills! That's why I came to this site - to check the "real" price. I'll never buy from our vet again. If you are a veterinarian reading this, I apologize if you are offended - but to me, that's robbery. 05/24/2010
Excellent product My English Bulldog has recurrent skin problems about twice a year, Simplicef does the trick in clearing it up, and, it is easy to take because I put it in a little piece of "Cheese". 05/10/2010
My Pug Yoda My Pug gets a yeast infection about every 6 weeks. We have another dog that loves to lick her face and so here we go with the moisture in the wrinkles. We have to put her on the Simplicef and within a few days she is a happy girl again and the infection has started to dry up. Without it I don't know what we would do. Thanks and I would refer it to any one with a dog that has wrinkles 11/06/2009
Simplicef simply great As the owner of a 6 year old white shepherd with a long history of skin problems, I have tried everything that came down the road. During change in seasons, she contracts a staff infection, and a 14 day regimen of simplicef knocks it right out. It is without a doubt the best thing on the market now for these types of fungal infections. If only it were a little more reasonably priced! 10/24/2009
Simplicef Our Old English Sheepdog (Andy) has had skin/infection issues for roughtly 3 yrs. He was diagnoised with a thyroid issue (takes medication) and also a 2nd issue of sebacious adenitis...which unfortunately there's not much available to treat that condition. With regards to his infections this medication is much easier to administer and more importantly, thus far, Andy has no side effects. I would highly recommed it's use for conditions that warrant an anti-biotic. Thanks, Susan 05/07/2009
Worked Great! My 15 year old greyhound has been battling a staph infection in her elbow for years. She'd been on every antibiotic known to man and nothing would completely clear it up until Simplicef. Yay! 03/04/2009
Simplicef My cocker spaniel has had skin issues since she was a puppy. When she gets stressed (going to the vet) or scared (thunder storms), she breaks out in a staff infection about 10 days later. The staff brings on itchy scabs on her skin. The vet recommended Simplicef and I have been using it for 4 years. It works great! 12/10/2008
Side Effects My 13 year old mini pincher was given simplicef for a skin infection, the skin infection cleared , but she ended up with myastinia gravis which killed her, I really do think the simplicef brought on the acute myastinia gravis which killed her quickly. Please be careful when giving this antibiotic, make sure your VET knows the dosage and gives the correct dosage. My dog was perfectly fine till giving her the simplicef. 11/17/2008
More Simplicef Reviews
Simplicef reviews (page 2)